top of page

My scallop neck dress



Initially, I made this dress to wear at my graduation ceremony last April. I finished it just on time, but in the end I did not wear it because the shoulders wouldn’t stay in place and I was not feeling comfortable wearing it. Also, I thought that any way, there is no point in wearing a dress you spent hours making, if in the end it will be mostly hidden by the graduation robe…



I’m not very happy with this dress. I was not able to fit it properly. I started from the Zita dress pattern. I tried to fit the bodice of the dress because it was too loose to my taste, so I took in the side seams. But I think I should have taken in on the centre front on the pattern, before sewing the dress. I think that’s why the shoulders are not staying in place and I had to add a stripe at the back to hold them. I also slightly shortened the bodice of the dress, and for the skirt, I made a gathered circle skirt to have some volume.



I ended up adding a stripe at the back to hold the shoulders in place, but it spoils the nice scalloped V back.



I am not sure I will wear this dress again because it is quite uncomfortable to wear, but at least I managed to take some nice pictures of it, and I learned from my mistakes!




4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page