top of page

My beach cover up dress



I’ve had this fabric in my stash for about 4-5 years. I’m not sure what project I wanted to make of it when I bought it! But I am trying to use the fabrics that I have had in my stash for a while, and I was not sure what to do with that one… Recently, I thought this fabric would be perfect for a beach cover up. The fabric is see-through, has some laser cut-outs all over, and is very light, so that’s a perfect match for this project. I made it this summer, just in time to bring it with me on my holidays!



To make it, I used the tutorial and the pattern of @leah.sewing but I made a few changes:

  • I shortened the sleeves (I didn’t have enough fabric to make them longer, but I like it with short sleeves)

  • I sewed an elastic at the waist instead of a drawstring

  • I made French seams for the shoulder and side seams, for a neat finish

  • I used biais binding folded towards the inside to finish all the edges. I don’t have an overlocker, and it was too difficult to make a hem with such a thin fabric with so many cut-outs.

It’s a fairly easy and quick project, and sometimes it’s nice to make something easier and get a new garment after a few hours only!



I waited to be on holidays in Spain to take photos and videos in action next to the swimming pool! This beach cover-up is great for going or coming back from the beach. You can wear it on top of your wet bikini without having to wet your clothes, or walk the streets around the beach in your bikini…



Check out below my little helper for the summer helping me (OR NOT) to shoot videos of my make!


3 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page