top of page

My basic T-shirt

This pattern is very easy as it is only made of 2 pieces. I copied it from a store bought tshirt that I have had for a long time and that I really like. During spring and summer, I like to wear colourful trousers and I often match them with white tops. As I don’t have many of these, I have decided to make this very basic tshirt using leftover fabric from my Thelma blouse. I had just enough to fit it in.

I tried to finish the edges and the seams as they were on the store bought tshirt that I copied, but I made a few changes:

  • For the neckline, I used biais binding, which is only visible on the inside of the tshirt

  • For finishing the sleeves, I used a twill tape in a similar way as a biais binding only visible on the inside, except I didn’t fold it.

  • For the side and shoulder seams, I made French seams to have a very clean finish.






Because it is a simple and quick to make pattern, I really wanted to spend some time to have clean finishes. And in the end, it wasn’t so simple and quick! I had to redo some of the seams several times as I was not entirely satisfied. And there is still one where I am not completely satisfied on the finish on the inside, but at least I have learned in the process how to make it better for next time! The most important is not necessarily the finish garment, but the process to make it and the takeaways. And unexpectedly, on a basic project like this one, I have learned a lot.



2 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page